Astrology for Beginners: How to Read a Birth Chart

Mar 17, 2022

Watch my video:

 Your zodiac sign is a small part of your astrology horoscope. Learn the art of birth chart interpretation in this video. Astrology is a self-development tool that everyone can use to understand themselves and their journey more fully. Use this video and blog post to discover your own personal journey with more depth.  

 Each astrological sign has positive and negative expressions. It’s up to the individual to evolve the archetypal expression of the sign.

The Astrological Signs

♈ Aries 

  • Symbol: Ram
  • Element: Fire
  • Quality: Cardinal (Initiator)
  • Archetypes: Warrior, Pioneer, Survivor, Rescuer
  • Keywords: Independent, strong willed, courageous, competitive, impatient, impulsiv

♉ Taurus

  • Symbol: Bull
  • Element: Earth
  • Quality: Fixed (stubborn)
  • Archetypes: Land-owner, shaman, the musician
  • Keywords: Self-sufficiency, materialistic, self-indulgent, stubborn, patient, sensual, dependable

♊ Gemini

  • Symbol: Twins
  • Element: Air 
  • Quality: Mutable (adaptable)
  • Archetypes: Storyteller, Teacher, Writer, Trickster, Messenger, Reporter
  • Keywords: curious, communicative, friendly, investigative, expressive, social, fickl

♋ Cancer

  • Symbol: Crab
  • Element: Water
  • Quality: Cardinal (initiator)
  • Archetypes: Healer, Mother, Counselor, Caretaker, Psychic
  • Keywords: nurturing, intuitive, sensitive, moody, passive, protective, contemplative

 ♌ Leo

  • Symbol: Lion
  • Element: Fire
  • Quality: Fixed (stubborn)
  • Archetypes: Performer, Actor, Ruler, Royalty
  • Keywords: expressive, creative, dramatic, prideful, outgoing, enthusiastic

♍ Virgo

  • Symbol: Virgin
  • Element: Earth 
  • Quality: Mutable (adaptable)
  • Archetypes: Perfectionist, Servant, Analyst, Martyr, Mentor
  • Keywords: practical, analytical, purification, purging, perfection, service, detail-oriented 

♎ Libra

  • Symbol: Scales
  • Element: Air
  • Quality: Cardinal (Initiator)
  • Archetypes: Socialite, Mediator, Peacemaker, Artist, Counselor, Flirt
  • Keywords: balance, harmony, peace, superficial, diplomatic, chameleon, artistic, friendly

♏ Scorpio

  • Symbol: Scorpion
  • Element: Water
  • Quality: Fixed (stubborn)
  • Archetypes: Psychologist, Detective, Tantrika, Hypnotist, Sex Therapist
  • Keywords: power, occult, loyal, manipulative, intense feelings

♐ Sagittarius

  • Symbol: Archer
  • Element: Fire
  • Quality: Mutable (adaptable)
  • Archetypes: Explorer, Philosopher, Wanderer, Guru, Professor
  • Keywords: optimistic, adventure, exploration, generous, open-hearted, energetic

 ♑ Capricorn

  • Symbol: Mountain Goat
  • Element: Earth
  • Quality: Cardinal (Initiator)
  • Archetypes: Authority, Father, Boss, Entrepreneur
  • Keywords: practical, serious, disciplined, responsible, authority, persevering

♒ Aquarius

  • Symbol: Water-Bearer
  • Element: Air
  • Quality: Fixed (stubborn)
  • Archetypes: Rebel, Eccentric, Inventor, Scientist, Revolutionary, Visionary
  • Keywords: freedom, liberation, unique, eccentric, friendly, humanitarian

 ♓ Pisces

  • Symbol: Fish
  • Element: Water
  • Quality: Mutable (adaptable)
  • Archetypes: Mystic, Dreamer, Poet, Artist, Psychic Medium, Addict, Lover
  • Keywords: empathy, psychic, escapism, romantic, compassionate, 

 The Planets

 Sun: The archetype & keywords for the sign will light up your life path. Use them wisely.

Moon: Emotional body, reactive nature, inner child, unconscious

Mercury: Mental lens - perceptual lens, communication patterns

Venus: What we are attracted to & our tastes

Mars: Sexual expression, physical energy, and drives

Jupiter: Opportunities & expansion energies

Saturn: Karma, where we need to place focus, effort, & discipline

Uranus: Need for unique expression, freedom, & excitement

Neptune: Dissolving, illusions, spiritualized, escapist

Pluto: Old patterns we need to transform or let go of..

Lunar Nodes

South Node: Past life roles and patterns

North Node: Role we must embrace to evolve this lifetime.

The Houses

  1. House of Identity & Self-Image
  2. House of Self-Worth & Resources
  3. House of Communication & Mind
  4. House of Home & Security
  5. House of Creation & Expression
  6. House of Discernment & Service
  7. House of Partnerships & Marriage
  8. House of Intimacy & Sharing
  9. House of Inner Truth & Higher Mind
  10. House of Career & Reputation
  11. House of Community & Aspirations
  12. House of Spirituality & Transcendence


Birth Chart Resources:


Check out my courses and the membership to learn with me.

Chart Interpretation Handbook by Stephen Arroyo

Astrology Psychology & The 4 Elements by Stephen Arroyo

Astrology Realized by Nadiya Shah

The Inner Sky by Steven Forrest

The Complete Node Book by Kevin Burk